ScottLog

February 20, 2008

Making a difference

Filed under: Uncategorized — numist @ 10:47 pm
Tags: , , ,

Like any engineer, I get satisfaction from solving problems and completing projects. For me, the real joy is when my solutions and ideas make it to a wider audience. This is why I enjoy working for large tech companies. I don’t want to be a big name somewhere, I want to make a difference.

This was one of the primary driving factors behind working at Apple. Here’s a platform I’ve used and stood behind for many years, and I was given the chance to make a difference.

I had two projects while I worked at Apple, and one of them has just seen the light of day in the latest Java6 preview (DP9). First listed feature, even. AppleScript is now a supported javax.script scripting language. Run arbitrary AppleScript. Return different types; not just Strings and Numbers, but Images and other (first class AppleScript) types as well. Eval() returns you regular, usable Java objects.

Check the release notes for example code. Report bugs.

Special thanks to Mike Swingler and the rest of the Java team for pushing this out and making my little (unfinished) project a reality. That team doesn’t get nearly enough credit for what it does.

I can’t wait until my other project ships. This is job satisfaction.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

