ScottLog

October 22, 2008

How did we get to this point?

Filed under: Uncategorized — numist @ 5:37 am

There were people demonstrating in favour of California Proposition 8 today at school. They were advocating it because being gay is wrong and this is a way to prevent people from successfully being gay. or something. The logic was so twisted, and the rhetoric so hateful, that I just had to come in here to draw you a direct analogy.

Let’s imagine a different election, where there’s a proposition on the ballot that forbids Catholics from marrying.

“How could that ever get to the ballot?!” I hear you interrupt. Trust me, I know how you feel. I can not understand how something like that made it on a ballot this year either.

Back to the example, I find this to be a reasonable analogy, because I think that Catholicism is sinful and wrong, and the last thing we need is to be raising children in such a homogeneous and closed-minded environment. But I’ll let you practice it. Even in public. Even married. I’d never support forcefully taking away your right to practice being wrong, that’s something for you to discover on your own. Even if you never come around, as long as you’re not hurting anyone then there’s really no loss on the grand scale of things.

So what gives us the right to permanently restrict the rights of same-sex couples? If you believe gays are wrong for what they do, removing their rights is not a way to make them see the light and recognize the error of their ways, it will only alienate them more from your organized cult. This isn’t a case of what’s right and what’s wrong, it’s a case of human rights. Everyone has the right to be wrong. In fact, I posit that most people exercise this right – it’s what brings us ballot initiatives like this.

I think that putting the church’s tax-exempt status up for vote is more valid than Prop 8.

Prop 8 is a hateful attempt at gay reform and it deserves to lose by a landslide. It’s unbelievable that we’d even consider writing something so flagrantly unconstitutional into the constitution itself.

5 Comments »

  1. I’m more than a little ashamed of us Californians being so narrow-minded in such a large number – obviously large enough to get Prop 8 on the ballot. I suppose the crazies may be moving here for the weather.

    The amount of hypocrisy in proposing something like Prop 8 while simultaneously claiming to live in a free country is simply staggering. Hooray for cognitive dissonance.

    Comment by Nik — October 22, 2008 @ 7:54 am | Reply

  2. Well said. And I’ll be in line to vote on churches’ tax exempt status if given the chance.

    Comment by Brad — October 22, 2008 @ 11:54 pm | Reply

  3. I’m also saddened by the fact that so many people can be so bigoted, but the thing that *really* makes me slightly more than pissed is that they don’t think so at all. I was looking at the replies someone in the for camp had on a facebook post, and it was just ridiculous! Most of the points they made were completely invalid; all the evidence and studies they linked to were clearly biased research, meaning worth pretty much nothing. And still, he refused to listen to other people’s arguments against his points, constantly saying that it was infringing on his freedom to practice religion by allowing gay people to marry. That churches were going to get sued. He even cited the banning of polygamy in Utah as barring their right to practice their religion, and how the churches were going to get lawsuits again and so on. AND he had the gall to say that using counterexamples like that of slavery and interracial marriages weren’t the same, and thus, invalid. It was absolutely ridiculous. I can’t stand stupidity like that. It makes me aggravated and annoyed.

    What gets me the most though, is that he keeps on saying that “everybody” thinks this is wrong and that “traditional” marriages have “always been between a man and a woman for centuries.” Whaaaaat the hell.

    Ahhhhhh…. This just turns me off more and more to christianity. D: I mean, I I don’t have too many issues with the religion itself (or certain sects) but I mean, be associated with these kinds of people? No thank you.

    I think I’m going to go play some violent videogame now. :D

    Comment by Jess — October 23, 2008 @ 6:09 am | Reply

  4. I’m a Christian who agrees with you and does not support prop 8 because it sounds too much like Jim Crow. It saddens me that people I know who call themselves Christian are rationalizing their prejudices with weak biblical support. I’m going to try and convince them that it doesn’t make sense to use the law to enforce their values upon other people. What really gets me is that the things Christ really criticized were materialism and hypocrisy and never explicitly mentioned homosexuality once but people are all up in arms over gay marriage being legalized while we continue to live in a system that is effectively run by greed. Anyway, I just wanted to say that we’re not all haters, any more than all Muslims are terrorists. The term Christianity has unfortunately been co-opted in the US by conservatives.

    Comment by Tony — October 25, 2008 @ 4:22 pm | Reply

  5. it’s good to know that some Christians didn’t get scared away by my crazy secular tirades.

    you raise a good point, I don’t think Christ said anything about homosexuality either, although I do recall that the Old Testament had a few pointed things to say about gays.

    but we’ve moved on since then, right? what happened to that loving God?

    Comment by numist — October 25, 2008 @ 4:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

